Skip Navigation

EDITOR’S NOTE:  We officially changed our name from University of Maryland University College (UMUC) to University of Maryland Global Campus (UMGC) on July 1, 2019. News stories posted on the Global Media Center are now using the new UMGC name. However, because the transition to the university’s new name will take several months to complete, you may still see the UMUC name, logo and look on our website and other materials through early 2020.

 Adelphi, Md. (July 30, 2019) – On July 18 at the 2019 International Cybersecurity and Intelligence Conference held in Toronto, Canada, Dr. Mansur Hasib, program chair of cybersecurity technology at University of Maryland Global Campus graduate school, received the 2019 Outstanding Global Cybersecurity Leadership Award, which honors individuals with a unique combination of industry accomplishments and academic contributions that impact cybersecurity.

“The ICSIC Conference is a unique event that brings together international experts from government, industry, and academia, for a highly interdisciplinary discussion around cybersecurity,” Hasib said. “This is a great honor for University of Maryland Global Campus and validates our institution as a global leader in cybersecurity education.”

“The International Cybersecurity and Intelligence awards recognize individuals and corporations who have broken barriers in the digital security science and made extraordinary contributions to the global cybersecurity as industry practitioners and academics,” said Yomi Olalere, president of the Ontario College of Management and Technology and chair of the ICSIC 2019 conference. “Recipients were recognized for years of work in digital security, data protection, consumer rights to data privacy, cybersecurity advanced education and increased security awareness,” he added.

Hosted by the International Center for Cybersecurity and Intelligence Research and the Ontario College of Management and Technology, the 2019 International Cyber Security and Intelligence Conference convened experts in cybersecurity, intelligence, counterterrorism, national infrastructure, cyber operations research, law enforcement and legal practitioners from North America, Europe, Africa, and Asia. The event, now in its second year, provides an opportunity for experts to share ideas and best practices on the areas of emerging cyber technologies, global security issues, common national cyber issues, cyber laws, operations and enforcement, academia and national critical infrastructure.

ICSIC award recipients were selected through a review process by a panel of judges that is tasked with reviewing the background of each nominee and considering several factors, including individual contributions to cybersecurity, leadership, service and technical skills.

About University of Maryland Global Campus A pioneer in distance education since 1947, University of Maryland Global Campus is a world leader in innovative education models, with award-winning online programs in workforce-relevant areas such as cybersecurity, biotechnology, data analytics, and information technology. UMGC offers open access with a global footprint and a specific mission—to meet the learning needs of adult students whose responsibilities often include jobs, families, and military service. Today, UMGC is harnessing the power of learning science and technology to deliver high-quality education that is accessible, affordable and valued. UMGC is a constituent institution of the University System of Maryland (USM) and governed by the USM Board of Regents.

About ICSIC The International Cyber Security and Intelligence Conference (ICSIC) focuses on empowering private and public enterprises (including government) with the latest information on techniques, strategies, solutions and cost-effective methods of ensuring a defense-in-depth cybersecurity program.

Cover Photo ICSIC 2019 Cybersecurity Conference Award winners, from left: Dr. Mansur Hasib of University of Maryland Global Campus, for Outstanding Achievement in Global Cybersecurity; Bret Arsenault of Microsoft, for International Cybersecurity Leadership; Dr. Arash Habibi Lashkari of the University of New Brunswick, for Cybersecurity Education; and Rima Aristocrat of Willis College, for Women in Cybersecurity.