Skip Navigation

Debate Moderators Martha Raddatz of ABC News and Chris Wallace of Fox News Join Commission on Presidential Debates Co-Chairs Frank Fahrenkopf and Mike McCurry For Post-Election Review with Journalist Marvin Kalb, Dec. 5           

The Commission on Presidential Debates once again brought the candidates together in 2016 to face tough questions on critical issues while providing a level of substance, dignity and decorum to the 2016 presidential campaign.

Did it work?

On the next edition of The Kalb Report, debate moderators Martha Raddatz and Chris Wallace, as well as Commission co-chairs Frank Fahrenkopf and Mike McCurry, join Marvin Kalb to review the remarkable 2016 events that rocked America and the world.

The Kalb Report will take place on Monday, December 5, at 8:00 p.m. at the National Press Club, 529 14th Street, NW, in Washington, D.C.

"Our aim is to sit back and reflect on this most unusual campaign, the role, function and future of the presidential debates, and gather thoughts about this extraordinary moment in American history, when revolutions in politics and media have become intertwined," said Kalb.

The Kalb Report series is produced jointly by The National Press Club Journalism Institute, the George Washington University School of Media and Public Affairs, Harvard University’s Shorenstein Center, University of Maryland University College and the Philip Merrill College of Journalism at the University of Maryland. For the 14th consecutive year, the series is underwritten by a grant from Ethics and Excellence in Journalism Foundation.

Since 1994, the partnership has produced 92 forums with guests including Justices Antonin Scalia and Ruth Bader Ginsburg, Bob Woodward and Carl Bernstein, Hillary Clinton, David McCullough, Rupert Murdoch, Diane Sawyer, Roger Ailes, Katie Couric, Bill O’Reilly, Bob Costas, Baseball Commissioner Rob Manfred, Nobel Laureate Elie Wiesel and Walter Cronkite.

The Kalb Report was most recently honored with a Gold World Medal in the 2015 New York Festivals International Radio Awards competition for its program Writing History: Bob Woodward, Carl Bernstein and Journalism’s Finest Hour.

In 2012, the series received both a Gold World Medal and the overall Grand Award in the New York Festivals for Anchoring 911, The Day and the Decade with Charles Gibson, Brit Hume, Dan Rather, and Frank Sesno.

The Kalb Report series is distributed nationally by American Public Television. Oklahoma Educational Television Authority serves as the presenting station. The series also airs on Maryland Public Television, Sirius-XM Satellite Radio, Federal News Radio in Washington, D.C., and District of Columbia Cable Television. Each program is streamed live at

Moderator Marvin Kalb is Edward R. Murrow Professor Emeritus at Harvard University’s Kennedy School of Government and senior advisor to the Pulitzer Center on Crisis Reporting. Over the course of his distinguished 30-year career in broadcast journalism, Mr. Kalb served as chief diplomatic correspondent for both CBS News and NBC News, and moderator of Meet the Press. He went on to serve as the founding director of Harvard’s Joan Shorenstein Center on the Press, Politics and Public Policy. Among his many honors are two Peabody Awards, the DuPont Prize from Columbia University, the 2006 Fourth Estate Award from the National Press Club and more than a half-dozen Overseas Press Club awards. Mr. Kalb has authored or co-authored 14 books including two best-selling novels. His latest book is “Imperial Gamble: Putin, Ukraine and the New Cold War.”

Executive Producer Michael Freedman is a senior vice president and professor of the practice at University of Maryland University College, as well as a professorial lecturer in journalism at the George Washington University. Freedman is the former general manager of CBS Radio Network News, and a former managing editor at United Press International. He has earned more than 85 honors for journalistic excellence including 14 Edward R. Murrow Awards.

Senior Producer Heather Date is a vice president at University of Maryland University College and former CNN producer. She received the Alliance for Women in Media’s 2011 Gracie Award as Outstanding Producer for her work on The Kalb Report.