Skip Navigation

Aric Krause, Ph.D., an 18-year veteran of teaching and leadership in higher education, is the new vice provost and dean of The Graduate School at University of Maryland Global Campus. He began his new position at UMGC on June 3. Prior to UMGC, Krause was the dean of the Division of New Learning at Salt Lake City's Westminster College.

"Aric brings nearly two decades of effective academic leadership and educational innovation to UMGC's continuing mission to provide exceptional and affordable higher education to working adults," said Marie Cini, provost and senior vice president for academic affairs at UMGC. "His record of inclusiveness and collaboration will help us build on the university's commitment to wide-ranging academic endeavors that can be adapted to real-world challenges."

As dean at Westminster, Krause led the development of a degree-completion program for adult learners, a rebuilding effort for graduate programs and the creation of the college's competency-based assessment models.

"The depth of talent and energy at UMGC is incredible. The instructional and individual commitment I see to helping individuals achieve their fullest potential is what attracted me to UMGC," said Krause. "The world of higher education is rapidly evolving. Some universities are ready for the resulting change, and some are not. I see UMGC as an energetic leader at the forefront of the revolution, and I am excited to bring my energies and commitment to the UMGC team."

UMGC continually seeks to develop workforce-relevant, online graduate programs that keep it among the educational innovators in fields such as cybersecurity, public safety and data analytics.

Krause received his Ph.D. in economics from Colorado State University and his M.A. and B.S. in economics from DePaul University and Illinois State University, respectively.

In addition to filling other leadership roles and teaching assignments at Westminster, Krause led the development and implementation of international relationships and programs in China, Peru, Germany, Holland and Argentina.